Syncronize all active directory groups on the server

Syncronize all active directory groups on the server

Syncronize all active directory groups on the server

Explanation

As a server administrator, you can synchronize all Active Directory groups on a regular schedule or on-demand on the General tab of the Settings page for the server.The Last synchronized time indicates the time that synchronization most recently began.

Synchronize Active Directory groups on a schedule
Single-site: Click Settings > General.

Multisite: In the site menu, click Manage All Sites and then click Settings > General.

Scroll down the page to Active Directory Synchronization, and then select Synchronize Active Directory groups on a regular schedule.
Select the frequency and time of synchronization.

Click Save.

Synchronize all Active Directory groups on demand
At any time, you can synchronize Active Directory groups with Tableau Server to ensure that new users and changes in Active Directory are reflected in all Active Directory groups on Tableau Server.

Single-site: Click Settings > General.

Multisite: In the site menu, click Manage All Sites, and then click Settings > General.
Under Active Directory Synchronization, click Synchronize All Groups.

View synchronization activity
You can view the results of synchronization jobs in the Background Tasks for Non Extractsadministrative view. Queue Active Directory Groups Sync is the task that queues and indicates the number of Sync Active Directory Group tasks to be run.

Single-site: Click Status.

Multisite: In the site menu, click Manage All Sites and then click Status.

Click the Background Tasks for Non Extracts link.

Set the Task filter to include Queue Active Directory Groups Sync and Sync Active Directory Group.

You can quickly navigate to this administrative view by clicking the View synchronization activitylink in the Settings page for the server.

Set the minimum site role for users in an Active Directory group
In the Groups – Details page, you can set the minimum site role for group users to be applied during Active Directory synchronization.

This setting does not run synchronization; instead, it sets the minimum site role to applied to the group every time synchronization runs. The result is that when you synchronize Active Directory groups, new users are added to the site with the minimum site role. If a user already exists, the minimum site role is applied if it gives the user more access in a site. If you don’t set a minimum site role, new users are added as Unlicensed by default.

In a site, click Groups.

On the Groups page, select a group.

Click Actions > Minimum Site Role.

Select the minimum site role, and then click Change Site Role.

What happens when users are removed in the source Active Directory?
Users cannot be automatically removed from the Tableau Server through an Active Directory sync operation. Users that are disabled, deleted, or removed from groups in Active Directory remain on Tableau Server so that administrators can audit and reassign the user’s content before removing the user’s account completely. For more information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *