Permissions for functional groups?

Permissions for functional groups

EXPLANATION
The following example shows how group permissions and site roles can be set to control what groups are allowed to do with the content in a project

Ashley and Adam need to publish and manage workbooks, and they are allowed to connect to data sources. They are members of the Content Developers group, and their site role is Publisher.
Henry needs to view and interact with workbooks, including edit views online. He belongs to the Content Viewers group, and his site role is Interactor.
Susan needs to view workbooks online (with no other interaction). She also belongs to the Content Viewers group, and her site role is Viewer.

Permissions for functional groups

This next image shows what these groups and permissions might look like when you set them up in Tableau Server. You can see the assigned permissions for the different groups, and the effective permissions that each user gets (what they are actually allowed to do).
A—These are the permissions set up for the All Users, Marketing – Content Developers, and Marketing – Content Viewers groups.
B—These are the capabilities set for each group.
C—These are the users in these groups.
D—These are the actual permissions each user gets.
In this example, Henry, with the Interactor site role, can work with the workbooks online (use filters, download full data, share workbooks, and web edit). But Susan, with the Viewer site role, is limited to viewing-related capabilities only (view workbook, download an image of the workbook, download summary data, view comments, and add comments). In this case, the site role of users in the group determines the permissions the users ultimately get.
Walkthrough: A practical approach to permissions
To show you how permissions work, we’ll walk you through the process of setting up a project, adding some users and groups, and then giving them permissions. To follow these steps, you must be signed in as an administrator.
Set defaults in the Default project
Every site in Tableau Server has a Default project. The default project is designed to be a template for new projects in the site, and is useful for creating a default set of permissions. In this case, as you’ll see, creating the default permissions will actually consist of removing some permissions.
In the menu at the top of the page, click Projects.
Open the permissions for the Default project. Click the Actions menu (…), and then click Permissions.

Click . . . next to the All Users group name.

Under Project, Workbooks, and Data Sources, select None.
Click Delete to apply the changes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *