What are the default permissions and locking permissions to the project?

What are the default permissions and locking permissions to the project?

EXPLANATION
Even though you’ve set up a bunch of permissions in the project, there is no actual content in the project yet. You’ve set up default permissions for the project. The idea is that the default permissions will apply to workbooks and data sources when users later publish those types of content to the project.
But there’s a twist. When users publish from Tableau Desktop, the publish process offers them the opportunity to set permissions on the content that they’re publishing:
If you set up default permissions for a project, and a publisher has the option to set permissions, who wins? It depends on how you set up your project—and whether you set permissions to be managed by the owner, or locked to the project.
Managed by the owner means the publisher can add or edit permissions on content they published (and therefore own). They can do this in Tableau Desktop at publish time, or directly on the server afterward
Locked to the project means all content published to the project uses the default permissions that the administrator set on the project. Content owners cannot change permissions, either on the server or during the publishing process.

What are the default permissions and locking permissions to the project?
Whether you lock permissions or to allow content owners to manage permissions is up to you and the purpose of the project itself. It might make sense to lock permissions in one project, but not in another. In this walkthrough, we’ll show you how to lock permissions, for two reasons:
Permissions are not locked by default, so it’s useful to see how to lock them.
This walkthrough demonstrates the closed permissions model, and locking permissions is an extension of careful and centralized management of content access.
Okay, let’s proceed with locking permissions to the project.
In the menu at the top of the page, click Content > Projects.
At the top of the Permissions pane, click Managed by the owner.
In the dialog that appears, select Locked to the project, and then click Save.
When you save, the button in the Permissions pane changes to Locked to the project
Now, in Tableau Desktop, the options to manage permissions during the publish process are removed:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *